Large 1MW scale off grid system

Hello there,
I’m currently studying the possibility of powering a large factory in middle east with solar energy. The factory isn’t connected to the public grid so on-grid system isn’t a choice. The problem is that it runs on 1MW generator. I have no experience with such large systems.
I’m searching for the possibility to run the factory on a Hybrid system using solar during the day and back up generator during the night. As a battery bank to be used in a such a system would be ridiculously large and uneconomical in my opinion. As they want to start a night shift with full power same as the day shift.

My question is… can I run such a system using off grid/hybrid inverters without the need of batteries?And if I can… What inverters could I use in my case… Most commercial off grid inverters are of small ratings. I know they are stackable but most of the systems I worked on we only needed to stack 2 or 3 off grid inverters max. Is it normal to stack 100 inverters of 10kw rating each to reach the power needed?

Hi @Abdelrahman_Afifi

This sounds very interesting, but most definitely out of my experience level too.

I would have thought you would need at least some battery capacity, because I know you get a lot of consistent sun in the Middle East, but what happens when a cloud comes over? How quickly can the generator be powered up? Presumably you can’t have production stop erratically, so why not install a battery bank that can store 1 hour of energy, and if the bank drops below say 30% then the generator kicks in? Yes, it would cost, but I can’t see an alternative.

Cheers
Marty

@Abdelrahman_Afifi there is such technology available that lets you use solar in combination with large MW scale diesel generators - these are often used in remote mine sites all around the world where the cost of diesel is extremely expensive and solar is very cheap.