Near Canberra - What size off-grid solar system?

Hey all,

We are looking at getting another round of quotes for an off-grid system near Canberra (our build got delayed and our existing quote has gone up significantly).

Before I talk to more providers I wanted to get a better understanding of the kinds of specs we will actually need. This is our usage sheet:

Two questions:

1. What size inverter/panels/batteries would make sense
  2. If we wanted to avoid a generator, how many days redundancy would we need (3 days?), and how would that change 1.

Hi Tom,

I’m an off-grid system designer in Vic and the load table is quite accurate considering your winter heating loads. The daily consumption of 25 to 30kWh is quite high for a residential off-grid system. A few quick calcs suggest the following:

• Min Inverter-charger size 7.5kW
  • Min solar array size 15kW (optimum 20kW)
  • Min AC coupled solar inverter 10kW
  • Min battery bank 55kWh
  • Backup generator min size 10kVA

This is a very large and expensive system due to the large battery bank required which itself would cost around $40k alone. You really can’t survive a winter without a backup generator as you can easily have 4 to 5 very overcast days in succession. It may be possible with an alternative heating source but not if you are relying solely on the split system, you will need a gen-set.

What is the energy rating of the building? Have you maximised north-facing glass to increase passive heating. Double glazing etc.
The cost is directly proportional to the winter consumption (kWh) as this determines the battery and solar array size. Your heating loads may actually be considerably lower than estimated if the house is very well insulated and is maximised for passive heating.

Hope this helps,
Jason

Hey Jason,

Thanks so much for the reply.