Are my batteries dying?

So yes to get started here I am new to solar but have on and off studied it over the years. I jumped in head first 6 months ago and love it. I have pretty well just been experimenting to see what works.

I managed to acquire some 12v marine batteries from salvage and revive them to a pretty even balance. I am currently using 12 marine batteries that were paralleled but now are run in a 24volt series. They are charged with 4 renogy 100 watt panels also series and 4 Photowatt 50w panels in series.

Question is that on my Renogy Rover 40a CC once the sun goes down…the charge will read out between a 25.1 and a 25.5. I would assume this means my batteries are maintaining a charge but that charge is on the very low end of a life cycle. Is this correct?

also yes I am upgrading to 6 volt batteries just searching out what is best for that type of battery yet cost effective.

1 Like

Hi Jarrod,
Remember when a battery is under any load then the voltage will drop according the load. Ie high loads could easily drop the voltage to 24.5V but it will return to a higher voltage once the load is removed.
If the battery voltage drops to 25.5V immediately after the sun goes down then either a small load is on or the batteries are simply old and not holding charge as well as new batteries. This just means the capacity of the battery is reduced but it may also indicate that one of the battery cells is faulty and drops voltage even under a small load.