Solar Power Perth, WA

I have 4 companies coming over on Tuesday to actually look at my property and give me quotes. I contacted all those copanies based on recommendation from friends and through Fin Peacock’s site Solar Quotes.

Our main reasons for installing solar are to reduce our carbon footprint as much as possible and also to allow us to install split heating/cooling in a few rooms (and be able to afford to use them!) as we currently have only (2) portable electric heaters, celiing fans for climate control. Our bi-monthly bills are consistently between $275-$310. I’m a teacher and home a lot on summer days, so would REALLY appreciate air conditioning.

I really want to be able to compare apples to apples, but everyone is giving me completely different equipment recommendations.

Company A) From our friends who had a 6W system installed on their 2 story house in South Fremantle: 25 x JA Solar panels and a Sungrow inverter for $3890. The company never came out to do a site inspection; when they came out and discovered it was a 2 story house, they took 4 days for the install but kept the quoted price. When I spoke to them, I got a preliminary estimate of $5700 for 330W Q Cell pancels and SMA inverter (so the equipment is not even comparable, but the other products were not offered in our initial exchange). They are coming over on Tues evening for further discussion. I’m impressed that they kept the quoted price; not so much that they sent a quote without a site inspection (but that’s already taken care of here). Is our friend’s system a good quote? Is it worth the considerably extra for the equipment upgrade?

Company B has quoted us is in between with a preliminary estimate of $4200 for 19 x 315W Risen panels and a Fronius inverter. They are also coming over Tuesday.

The last two companies did not offer an email/phone quote but will be visiting the house.