Off-grid solar power Granada, Spain | BYD, Victron Quattro

I’m putting a new off grid solar system into my home in Spain. I’ve owned the home since October and it came as a small surprise to learn it needed changing immediately. As such, I’m on a step learning curve.

I have estimated my optimal needs to be around 30kw a day (although current usage is about 20kw), with between 5 and 10 hours of usable solar radiation a day (on the worst day in the last 15 years this dropped to 2 hours).

I have 3 quotes, and I would welcome any insight on how best to evaluate their merits.

Thanks in advance

Hi
I’m an off-grid system designer in Australia and first it seems all of the systems are well undersized for your situation, in particular on the solar side. Quality solar panels are cheap compared to batteries so it is regular practice to oversize the solar array to account for days of bad weather and reduce generator runtime. (do you have very limited roof space?)

It’s hard to follow the quotes you posted but I’m guessing the 3 three columns are the three quotes. The first (left) is way off and specifies a 24V inverter/battery which is crazy for a system of this size. The second (middle) is better at 48V lithium battery but undersize on the battery, although being a lithium BYD battery it should be modular so it can be increased in size later. (The BYD B-Box Pro would be a much better choice for off-grid)
The third looks to be sized correctly on the battery ( I can’t read spanish well) but undersize on the solar. All three specify Victron Quattro inverters and controllers which is great quality gear.

Finally I would be looking at reducing your energy consumption as much as possible (rather than increasing) and using the most efficient appliances available,

Hope this helps
Jason

One more question. Did any of the solar companies provide you with a ‘load table’? A load table lists all of the appliances and estimates daily energy consumption, maximum demand and time of use.